Diocesan Appointments 2012

Bishop Freeman has recently announced the changes to diocesan appointments.


Very Rev. Eamon Foley, P.P., Rathdowney, Co. Laois, to retire and live in Kilkenny.

Very Rev. Martin Delaney, Adm., Mooncoin, appointed parish priest of Rathdowney.

Very Rev. Nicholas Flavin P.P. Dunamaggan also appointed Parish Priest of Windgap.  This arrangement will be reviewed after three years.

Very Rev. Richard Canon Phelan P.P., Ballycallan, appointed Pastor Emeritus, Ballycallan, Co. Kilkenny.

Rev. Lorcan Moran, Curate, Thomastown, appointed Parish Priest, Ballycallan, Co. Kilkenny.

Rev. Dermot Ryan, Chaplain, St. Kieran’s College, Diocesan Adult Faith Development Director, also appointed Curate, Thomastown, Co. Kilkenny.

Rev. Kieran O’ Shea, Curate, Ballycallan, appointed Curate, St. Canice’s, Kilkenny.

Rev. Fergus Farrell will reside in St. Kieran’s College.  As Diocesan Archivist, he will oversee the transferring of the Archives from the former Diocesan Office, Sion Road to the new office in James’s Street.

Fr. John Lalor, P.P., Camross, Co. Laois, appointed Diocesan Financial Administrator for a period of 5 years (Can. 494)

The above appointments are effective from 14th July 2012.


Brian Griffin will take up pastoral placement in St. John’s Parish as part of the Maynooth Formation Programme for the duration of the coming academic year 2012 – 2013.

Arnold de Volder, Parish of Aghaviller, has been accepted as a student of the Diocese of Ossory.

20th June 2012

Ossory Diocesan Office James’s Street, Kilkenny Tel: 056-7762448 Fax: 056-7763753 E-mail: bishop@ossory.ie