Bishop Denis Nulty, Apostolic Administrator of Ossory

Denis Nulty was born in Slane, County Meath on 7 June 1963 to parents Den Nulty and Nan Balfe. He is the youngest of five children, with two brothers and two sisters. The family farm was the home where Denis and his siblings were reared.

He attended Primary School at Saint Patrick’s National School, Slane and Secondary School at Saint Patrick’s Classical School, Navan, completing the Leaving Certificate exam in 1981.

Denis entered the seminary at Saint Patrick’s College, Maynooth in September 1981, completing a BA in 1984 and a BD in 1987.

He was ordained a Priest for the Diocese of Meath in Saint Patrick’s Church, Slane on 12 June 1988 by Bishop Michael Smith in the presence of Bishop John McCormack.

In September 1988 Bishop Smith appointed Father Denis as Curate in the Cathedral Parish at Mullingar where he served for ten years until 1998. In August 1998 Bishop Smith appointed Father Denis as Parish Priest of Saint Mary’s, Drogheda where he remained up until his Episcopal appointment to Kildare & Leighlin (August 2013)

In 2006 Father Denis followed a course of study in All Hallows College, Dublin, leading to an MA in Management for the Pastoral and Voluntary Services being awarded by DCU.

In September 2006 Bishop Smith appointed Father Denis as Vicar Forane for the Duleek Deanery which comprises seven parishes. Father Denis was Chairperson of the Council of Priests in the Diocese of Meath for past eight years prior to his appointment as Bishop of Kildare & Leighlin.

Bishop Denis Nulty was ordained Bishop of Kildare & Leighlin on 4th August 2013 in Carlow Cathedral and has served there since

On Tuesday 2nd February it was announced that Pope Francis had appointed him as Apostolic Administrator of Ossory. He takes up that role along with his Ministry in Kildare and Leighlin journeying with the people of Ossory until a new Bishop is Appointed.

Bishops of Ossory

Commemorative Plaque of the Bishops in St Mary’s Cathedral

On Tuesday 2nd February it was announced that Pope Francis had appointed Bishop Denis Nulty as Apostolic Administrator of Ossory.

The following is a list of all those who proceeded him.

St   KieranMarch 5
St  CarthageMarch 5
St   MedranJune 8
St  SednaMarch 10
St  MuccineMarch 4
St MomaedhocFeb 16
St Aengus LamoidanFeb 16
St LachtinMarch 19
St Colman UA EircApril 22
St CuillenApril 22
St BochonnaJan 13
St Finnech DuirnFeb 2
St EochanApril 18
St Killene Mac LubneDeparted              A.D.         696
Laidhgnen Mac DoinlanachDeparted              A.D.         739
TnuthgallDeparted              A.D.         771
MocoachDeparted              A.D.         788
CucathrachDeparted              A.D.         793
CothachDeparted             A.D.         812
FereoachDeparted              A.D.         814
ConchobharDeparted              A.D.         815
Conmhach UA LoicheneDeparted              A.D.         826
InchalachDeparted              A.D.         832
AnluanDeparted              A.D.         846
Cormac Mac EladhachDeparted              A.D.         867
CeranDeparted              A.D.         868
SloidhedhachDeparted              A.D.         885
CormacDeparted              A.D.         907
FearchalDeparted              A.D.         919
FochartachDeparted              A.D.         941
ColmanDeparted              A.D.         948
ConfoeladDeparted              A.D.         951
DonchadhDeparted              A.D.         971
FochartachDeparted              A.D.         1004
Donchad UA CelieachairDeparted              A.D.         1048
ComhoranDeparted              A.D.         1066
Ceallack ReamharDeparted              A.D.         1079
Ceallack UA CaonhoranDeparted              A.D.         1108
DonaldDeparted              A.D.         1152
Donat O FocharthachDeparted              A.D.         1178
Felix O’DullanyDeparted              A.D.         1202
Hugh De RousDeparted              A.D.         1218
Peter HalveisinDeparted              A.D.         1231
Walter of BrackleyDeparted              A.D.         1243
Geoffrey De TurvilleDeparted              A.D.         1250
Hugh De MapiltonDeparted              A.D.         1258
HughDeparted              A.D.         1260
Geoffrey St LegerDeparted              A.D.         1287
Roger of WexfordDeparted              A.D.         1289
Michael of ExeterDeparted              A.D.         1302
William Fitz JohnDeparted              A.D.         1317
Richard LedredDeparted              A.D.         1360
JohnDeparted              A.D.         1365
WilliamDeparted              A.D.         1369
John of TatenaleDeparted              A.D.         1370
Alexander PetitDeparted              A.D.         1386
Richard NorthalisDeparted              A.D.         1395
Thomas PeverellDeparted              A.D.         1398
John WalthanDeparted              A.D.         1399
John GriffinDeparted              A.D.         1400
JohnDeparted              A.D.         1400
Roger De ApplebyDeparted              A.D.         1404
JohnDeparted              A.D.         1405
Thomas SnellDeparted              A.D.         1416
Patrick RaggedDeparted              A.D.         1421
Denis O DeaDeparted              A.D.         1427
Thomas BarryDeparted              A.D.         1460
David HackettDeparted              A.D.         1471
John O’HedaynDeparted              A.D.         1487
Oliver CantwellDeparted              A.D.         1527
Milo BaronDeparted              A.D.         1550
John O’ThonoryDeparted              A.D.         1565
Thomas StrongDeparted              A.D.         1601
David RotheDeparted              A.D.         1650
James O’PhelanDeparted              A.D.         1695
William DatonDeparted              A.D.         1712
Malachy DulanyDeparted              A.D.         1731
Patrick O’SheaDeparted              A.D.         1736
Colman O’ShaugnessyDeparted              A.D.         1748
James DunneDeparted              A.D.         1758
Thomas De BurcoDeparted              A.D.         1776
John Thomas TroyDeparted              A.D.         1786
John DunneDeparted              A.D.         1789
James LaniganDeparted              A.D.         1812
Kyran MarumDeparted              A.D.         1827
William KinsellaDeparted              A.D.         1845
Edward WalshDeparted              A.D.         1872
Patrick Francis MoranDeparted              A.D.         1884
Abraham Brownrigg1884 to 1923
James Downey1922 to 1927
Patrick Collier1928 to 1964
Peter Birch1964 to 1981
Laurence Forristal1981 to 2007
Seamus Freeman2007 to 2016
Dermot Farrell2018 to 2020

Latest News